The Proverbs 31 Wanna-be Club: Week 1- Faith

Proverbs 31 Wanna-Be Club intro

Welcome to the first “meeting” of the Proverbs 31 Wanna-Be Club. As noted in the first installment of the club, my goal is to break Proverbs 31:10-31 down to find out exactly what her characteristics are, find out what areas of my own life need additional work, and figure out how to go about becoming a wife who is “worth far more than rubies”. Each Friday for the next few months, I’ll dive in just a tad bit deeper into what type of a woman Proverbs 31 actually was. Join me!

Proverbs 31: An Overview.

I was wrong, I was completely wrong. When I set out to write this blog, to cover this passage as a series, I was under the impression that I could understand and dig deep into finding out what this woman was all about. Her perfection has haunted me for years and even more so when you see her passage on nearly every Christian Lady’s Blog ever written.

I looked into every verse. I saw the work of her hands. I see the characteristics that lie there between the lines but how she got to such a distinguished position- The Wife of Noble Character- has confused me for years.

As I sit here and type, it was not even an hour ago I set out to tell you all that it was impossible to ever become a wife of noble character according to Proverbs 31. I have the notes to prove it. I even became hung up on the one word in verse 1 saying that this was all an “utterance” of King Lemuel’s mother. An utterance!!! Like in advice, as in this woman was made up, a wives tale told to sons in the hopes that they’d give up on marriage because they could never find this perfect woman and then I saw it.

Eyes Opened.

Each passage, the Proverbs 31 woman is taking care of everything. Food on the table, clothes on everyone’s back… and those two points reminded me of the end to a sermon I caught on Moody radio this afternoon during the school pick-up run. I believe it was Grace To You, but the pastor/preacher was talking about the phrase “O ye of little faith.” The 4 times it is mentioned, Jesus had to reassure them that there is no need to worry because God is taking care of them, from food to clothing to saving their lives.

You can search that phrase in the King James Version on Biblegateway.com and it will show you the 4 exact passages in which this phrase is ever mentioned in the Bible. Here’s a link. {Biblegateway.com}

O ye of little faith. That’s my problem! That’s why I couldn’t understand how the Proverbs 31 woman was taking care of it all… it’s because she wasn’t, God was. She was doing work, we all are to do our fair share of work, but God was supplying her with the things she needed and why? Because she had FAITH in God.

That faith is how she made it to such a distinguished position. That faith in God is what made her worth more than rubies. That faith is why her husband had confidence in her, why her family rose and called her blessed, and why she has surpassed them all.

Have Faith

Conclusion:

This series may not go into the direction in which I had originally intended, this blog may not even become what I had envisioned, but one thing is for certain, whether or not my ramblings above made any sense to any one, they made sense to me. I’ll never become an example of the Proverbs 31 woman without putting ALL of my faith into God.

 

2 thoughts on “The Proverbs 31 Wanna-be Club: Week 1- Faith

  1. Pingback: The Proverbs 31 Wanna-be Club: Week 2- Trustworthiness |

  2. Pingback: The Proverbs 31 Wanna-be Club: Week 3 |

Leave a Reply

